Reader Recipes: Charlotte’s Borscht

Posted: November 8, 2013 by rainbowwarriorlizzie in Uncategorized

JACK MONROE

I was sent this recipe by a lovely reader, Charlotte, so thought I would share it here. If you have a recipe you would like to share, email it to me on jackmonroe@live.co.uk

I am trying to be really thrifty at the moment as I’m on a postgraduate student living allowance which is being squeezed from every direction. I was making dinner last night and needed to use up some beetroot so I made a vague approximation of borscht, I don’t know if it’s the sort of thing you or your readers might like.

Ingredients:
Pack of four cooked (not pickled) beetroot, in small cubes
1 tbsp sunflower oil
Diced small onion
Vegetable stock cube in about 700mL water
Pinch of paprika
Tablespoon plain yogurt
Black pepper
Mixed herbs

I browned the onion and then added the beetroot and the juice from the packet. In next was the stock, the…

View original post 91 more words

Leave a Reply

